FASTFOOD| VEGAN CRISPY TOFU NUGGETS

A few weeks ago, I had a block of firm tofu left in my fridge. I buy it regularly, because there are so many easy recipes with tofu.

That day I knew I wanted to make something with it, but I didn’t know what. So I just searched Pinterest.

There, I found a few recipes for tofu (chicken) nuggets, but they were mostly vegetarian, or they used soy sauce, which I didn’t have in my cupboard at the time.

So I decided to use the idea but to make my own recipe and start from scratch, and I can already tell you: they were amazing!

RECIPE

MARINADE

. Add HALF A CUP PEANUT OIL, HALF OF A TABLESPOON THYME, ONE TEASPOON CHICKEN  SEASONING, ONE FOURTH OF TEASPOON OF SALT, A LITTLE BIT OF PEPPER AND A DASH OF SMOKED PAPRIKA into a large container.

Tip: choose one with a large surface at the bottom, so that the pieces of tofu can easily lay in the marinade.

Foto 4-12-16 17 05 01.jpg

TOFU (CHICKEN) NUGGETS

. Press the BLOCK OF FIRM TOFU in a kitchen towel, so that all the water is drained. Cut it into nugget shaped pieces, or any shape you want really.

. Then, let them marinate for about 3 hours.

.  You take three deep plates. You fill the first one with REGULAR FLOUR, the second one with CORNSTARCH AND SOME WATER and the third one with BREADCRUMBS MIXED WITH A LITTLE BIT OF CHICKEN SEASONING AND THYME.

. When the tofu is ready, you put them one by one, first in the flour, then in the cornstarch with water and then in the breadcrumbs. Put them on a plate.

. When they’re all done, you can fry them in a deep fryer.

 

Now you can enjoy your homemade nuggets!

 

PEACE AND LOVE

VALERIE

Leave a Reply

